Thing 8

Regarding practicing IMing, I don’t really need it, as I use my phone to retrieve directory information from google all the time (usually when I’m driving) and I chat with friends at least once a week. But if someone would like to practice, they can leave a comment and I will be glad to practice with them.

In terms of library services, it could be useful; however, it could add a great deal of stress to someone who is already checking in a laptop, answering the phone, and trying to find the answer to a reference question. But we adapt. And I’m not a Luddite by any means, but the medium does not lend itself to good questions and there is a great potential for misunderstanding, miscommunication, and misinformation.

Webconferencing is great. The presentation is not as stimulating as in person communication, but the savings in staff time and travel more than offset this. Plus, you can drink your coffee at your desk and put the whole shebang on pause (as long as it isn’t live), things you can’t do IRL (that’s “in real life”, for you 1.0 Librarians).

Our library (ACLD) uses email for virtually everything. Which is wonderful. I can’t tell you if it has improved productivity because I wasn’t here before they started using it. But it does help me to be productive, and I am pretty diligent about acting on emails and then filing them appropriately. I have a lot of Outlook folders.

I watched part of

    Captivating Choices: High-Interest Books for Low-Interest Readers, presented by Megan Schliesman and Merri Lindgren on Wednesday, November 7, 2007. Sponsored by the Outagamie Waupaca Library System.

There was supposed to be a PowerPoint presentation to go with this, but I didn’t see it. I just had a white screen and heard voices. It was interesting, though, even without any visuals.

Leave a Reply

