Thing 16

First of all, I found Erin McKean on her blog A Dress a Day, which I absolutely adore, and follow religiously.

I use one of her quotes as a tagline in my personal email:  Prettiness is not a rent you pay for occupying a space marked “female”.

As I read more of A Dress a Day, I discovered that she is a lexicographer.   Next to being a librarian or a farmer, that has to be the coolest job in the world.  She is also the author of Verbatim, an amusing and erudite book about words.

In this video, entitled Redefining the Dictionary, she discusses many of the same issues that concern librarians:  currency, access, scope, and quality.  Although she is philosophically more of a descriptivist than is prudent for a person in her profession; she is nevertheless an entertaining and gifted speaker.  Herewith:

I thought using YouTube was easy, but I have been using it for some time now.  The hardest part was choosing which video I wnted to share.

1 Comment

  1. QB said,

    March 17, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    Loved the You Tube video. Erin McKean is funny and clever.


Leave a Reply

