Thing 17

Well, I chose to listen to Bookworm Banter from podcast.com.  They were discussing Pride and Prejudice.  The process was not very intuitive.  It offers you the option to Play, but it doesn’t.  You have to download it, then click on it on your downloads and then it plays.  It was also difficult to figure out how to subscribe, and once I did figure it out, I had to go page by page to find the find the one I wished to subscribe to, as they weren’t indexed in that part of podcast.com.  I ended up doing a google search for podcast.com RSS bookwormbanter and found it more quickly than using their painful index.

And the podcasters were trying to be ironic, but they were just a couple of goobers.  If I wasn’t already a devoted Janeite, I would never want to pick up one of her books.  I did learn, however, that someone makes Pride & Prejudice bath towels.    (Ooh!  Wouldn’t it be cute to have Pride and Prejudice or Sense and Sensibility embroidered pillowcases!!!)  I’m not going to bother to link it to my blog because I’ve given up sadism for Lent.

The Yahoo Podcasts weren’t so bad, but I had spent so much time with podcast.com that I really didn’t have time to explore that.  It was indexed, but I didn’t see a directory, which would have been nice.

I signed up for Gcast, but was not inclined to give them my phone number.  I actually tried to do a podcast, but as far as I could tell, I wasn’t successful.

I don’t think I will listen to any podcasts regularly, as I have adequate sensory input.  It is also not likely that I will podcast on regular basis, as truly effective pontification is fundamentally spontaneous.  However, it does occur to me that I could take a laptop to a family reunion and collect a bunch of family stories while some of the oldest generation is still alive.

Leave a Reply

